Monday 17 August | 7.30pm

Discover the musical influence of Johann Sebastian Bach in this series dedicated to piano transcriptions and homages performed by New Zealand's most revered pianist: Michael Houstoun. Known and loved by New Zealand audiences, and praised around the world for his intense and incisive interpretations, Michael Houstoun is a glorious jewel in the crown of New Zealand music. This concert will be a sublime musical journey through time celebrating Bach and the harmony and vitality of his music.

J S Bach: Partita No 1 in B-flat major BMV 825
Ross Harris: Fugue for Piano
Lilburn: Chaconne (1946)
Rachmaninov: Suite from Violin Partita in Etranscription for piano after J S Bach
Shostakovich: Prelude and Fugue in D minor Op 87 No 24
Liszt: Organ Fantasy and Fugue in G minor S 463 after J S Bach BMV 542, S 463


This concert is presented in association with Chamber Music New Zealand.


Gillies Group Theatre

Tickets: $45 Adult | $200 Five Concert Subscription | $40 Concession (Friends/Piano Club/Upper Hutt Music Society) | $20 Student